Posted by: pendrops | April 8, 2009

shower spray love

picture-1

As the scent of ylang-ylang dissipated in our bathroom this morning, I set the shower spray back in its place and laughed. I was remembering Jason’s and my first fight not a few weeks into our marriage.

“I just think you’re using too much,” I told him one morning as he set down the bottle of ylang-ylang shower spray.

“Babe, seriously, how expensive is this stuff?”

“That’s not the point. I just think you’re spraying too much. It’s wasteful.”

“I just don’t think it’s that big a deal.”

We went round and round about the shower spray until silence overtook our weary argument.

And now, three years later, three years into this marriage thing, I can’t help thinking about all the love we’ve laid as our foundation since then. All the times we’ve laughed together, danced alone, cried with each other, and dreamed one another’s dreams. At the same time, I also can’t help seeing all the petty fights and hearing all the words I wish I’d never said. But I suppose when it all comes down, so many of Jason’s and my disagreements are about something deeper than whatever surfacy thing gets our blood hot. It’s about our need for compromise. For communication. For humility. For love. Words we keep learning and steeping ourselves in.

Tiffs are gonna happen. We’re both gonna keep saying stupid things that frustrate one another. And as rookies at this covenant stuff, we still have decades of unfinished business where love is concerned. Because we are unfinished.

But then there’s the hour-long conversation over dirty dishes and cold chicken. There’s our out-loud laughter in the quiet library. There’s a sweet baby boy on the way, the evidence of our overflowing love. And I just can’t imagine that there’s anyone else in the world with whom I’d rather grow and learn. No one else with whom I’d rather journey and fall down and get up again. No one else with whom I’d rather fight over shower spray.

(And, for what it’s worth, Jason was right about the shower spray all along.)

Happy Anniversary, my most beloved.

img_4023

Responses

  1. Krista, this brought tears to my eyes. Happy anniversary! Lots and lots of congratulations!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

