Posted by: pendrops | January 29, 2009

hey jude: a letter from your momma

jude

[click the picture to see Jude’s first video]

Well, Jude, I suppose you’re not surprised. But your momma certainly is. Surprised and filled with unspeakable joy. She thought the little life inside was for sure a girl, but when you uncrossed those growing legs at the ultrasound appointment today, you let us in on your secret.

Oh my God, a boy! was all I could say as the technician typed, “BOY” in all caps across the screen. And your daddy was speechless. We cried and laughed and cried and laughed some more while we held hands and learned about your spine, your kidneys, your heart, your feet, your face. That sweet face. From the grainy images on the screen it looks like you have your momma’s nose and your daddy’s mouth.

I went right out and bought you a book today, a real boy book. You already have so many books from all of us here waiting for you. (We think you might love to read like momma and daddy.) But none of those books were just for a boy, so I took care of that. I can’t wait to hold you in my lap and read you to sleep. And read you to dream-worlds and fantasy-lands only a boy with your imagination could create.

I have talked to God about you, talked all about you so many mornings, afternoons, evenings and in the deep mid-nights when sleep wouldn’t have me. I loved you before I even knew you existed. And now, as you are daily shaped into the boy who is my son, I pray this blessing over you:

Jude Adam

May you know courage and tenderness, strength and compassion.
May you worship God from dust to dust, all your days.
May you receive the life-giving inheritance of grace that is yours because you are huios, a son and an heir.
May you always know your name, Child; the name given you by the One who has forever known you.

And “may mercy and peace and love be multiplied to you…and may you keep yourself in the love of God, ready and waiting for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to eternal life. May you have mercy on some who are doubting; and save others, snatching them out of the fire…” (Jude 2, 21-23)

You are a treasured gift, Jude Adam. You are a blessed son.

Responses

  1. A boy! Congrats!

  2. Congratulations! Jude Adam is already so handsome! I can’t wait for him to be introduced to the world!

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    I’m just so happy about Jude! Yea!

  3. Nathan and I just watched your video. We are thrilled!!! Nathan wants you to know that boys are the best! He squealed with delight when he saw that it was a boy. Yeah! Another boy cousin to pay with! We can’t wait to meet Jude! And love the name!

  4. Another precious Nephew for me to Love!!
    I keep watching him swim around! What a delight.
    I am praying the Bible verse over him.
    Thanks for making Auntie’s day.
    Love to the 3 of you!

  5. A beautiful word and prayer for our son. I’m all choked up!

    I love you…

  6. Yes, words do not come easy as I look at that beautiful life moving around. I want to tell the world – that’s my grandbaby – and I have! I’ll keep praying for continued health for you both. Love you all.

  7. Hi Doll! I’m so excited for you. Having boys is a blessing and a challenge too! Greggie and Jeff were precious to me in their “little boy” days. Cherish those times – they go so fast, and then you’re attending their wedding. Happy days ahead! God bless.

  8. Jude has stolen my heart & I can’t wait for him to get here!
    Love you all so much
    Grandma Sue

  9. HEY JUDE!!!!!!!
    It is going to be such a great event when you get here, You are making so many people very happy.
    Jason and Krista, the Lord continues to truly bless you in your walk together.
    I have played the video many, many, many times and the joy continues to grow!!

    We LOVE the 3 of you very much——-

  10. I was trying to think of a special comment to make, and there’s simply no words to describe how I feel about Jude. How do you possibly explain the excitement and anticipation of your first grandchild? I’m busting out already, and I know when the day actually comes, I’m just going to explode with excitement, emotion, pride, and thankfulness for such an amazing blessing from God. Love you guys. GS (PS – oh yeah, the video…. a Beatles song…. Sammy had to love it……. it just don’t get no better……. I hope Jude is a Beatles fan too:-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

