Posted by: pendrops | December 31, 2008

to be good

the-ball

I found several articles today at Google News saying most people aren’t making New Years’ resolutions for 2009. I’m not sure how the media knows what 300 million people are planning for next year, but I can concur that I, too, am not making a resolution this year.

I’ve never really made resolutions, but the difference this year is that I don’t feel guilty about my resolution-less entry into 2009.  In fact, I didn’t give one single thought to a resolution until I skimmed aforementioned Google News.

What I did decide was this: Rather than resolve to do anything, I’m going to be about listening this year. Specifically, listening to the voice that calls me Beloved. Because simply receiving my name, my deepest identity, and knowing the One who sings it over me, is far better than any of my meager, grasping, halting, nagging, and selfish intentions to be good.

Responses

  1. “I’m not sure how the media knows what 300 million people are planning for next year, but…”

    HA! Don’t you love it when they tell us what we are doing and thinking? They are SO smart!

    Very poignant words for those of us who love setting resolutions. I’m going ahead with mine for ’09, but with an understanding that resolutions don’t actually accomplish anything (the Spirit does that–accomplish, that is).

  2. I resolve to read your blog more often.


Leave a Reply

Categories

