Posted by: pendrops | October 14, 2008

freedom’s sacred cause


“Never forget justice is what love looks like in public.”

Relegated to the furthest corner of the movie-plex, Call + Response, a new “rockumentary to expose the world’s 27 million most terrifying secrets,” played for its lone audience member: me. In the haunting solitude of the dim theater, the weight of human trafficking crushed me. Where the tragedy of modern-day slavery is concerned I still have so much to learn. I am undone, even before the movie begins, sitting alone in the cinema’s unusual silence.

I want to cry.

I want to rage.

I want to shout,

“I’m here for you, little girl. As you are pulled away from your father and mother who had to send you away to “work” because of their poverty. As you are raped tonight in some dingy Asian brothel. As you are deceived, defaced, dehumanized. I am here, at this movie, for you. I don’t know what else to do. Yet.”

I find myself overwhelmed by the injustices that break the heart of God. What am I to do with 27 million slaves? 27 million faces? 27 million stories? 27 million souls? All I have are questions and more questions as I sit in the dark, trying to wrap my brain around the hideous numbers.

Is this really possible?

With all our civilized-ness and enlightenment are we seriously no further along in our understanding of human value and worth?

Are we honestly making this mistake again?

Tonight, I don’t know the ways to awaken freedom. I only know it involves me. And it involves you.

We may not be able to storm into the brothels in Cambodia and rescue eight-year-old girls from sexual predators. We may not be able to swoop into India and carry away the millions of men and women whose lives are considered less valuable than cattle. We may not be able to free little boys from becoming war children in African tribal conflicts.

But we can start where we are. Here. Today. Mindful. Aware. Listening. Willing. Sacrificing. Enlisting. Hoping. Believing.

Believing that injustice does not have the final say. Believing this too shall be made right.

Responses

  1. Where is the cry from the Christian community to show up in droves to see this movie?

    I suppose that even the poor acting in a B-level Christian movie is a more comforting alternative than the harsh realities presented in “Call + Response.”

    (Who’s up for rental night at the Barmers? We could watch the directors cut of “Left Behind” and completely lose our souls in the mediocrity of it all.)

  2. Thanks for your input, Jason. However, I think it’s important that we not make this issue a guilt-inducing, shame-based, holy moral high-horse. It is a constant awakening.

    Where the tragedy of modern-day slavery is concerned, I still have so much to learn. I am painfully ignorant of the inhumanity and injustices that break the heart of God.

    At the same time, I am like you – frustrated that churches across the US tell us to go support “Christian” movies. Call + Response is indisputably chasing hard after the very heartbeat of Christ. And where’s the support for it?

    What can we do to end the unawareness?

    Anyone?

    Anyone?

  3. I suppose I was a tad harsh. And worse yet, I re-directed the focus to something else. The vital issue you wrote about deserves the spotlight.

    Point well taken.

  4. […] together we can make a difference. Thanks to Kathy for alerting me to Blog Action Day and thanks to Krista for her inspirational […]

  5. Thanks for a deep and thoughtful and heartfelt post. There are answers to your questions, they are not necessarily short and easy answers, but they are there waiting for you. You can start on our website, http://www.freetheslaves.net – but look first at the beautiful hopeful truths of modern heroes of abolition under the section on the Freedom Awards – people like James Kofi Annan, a modern-day Frederick Douglass, an ex-childslave who devotes his life to bringing other children out of bondage.

    Then have a look at how we are going to bring slavery to an end in this generation – it is possible and we’re dedicated to doing it. You are absolutely right about needing to raise awareness, that plus more resources can bring slavery to an end forever. The stories and the plan are in my book Ending Slavery: How We Free Today’s Slaves.

    And, yeah, I was that goofy-looking guy in the blue shirt in Call+Response.
    Warm wishes
    Kevin Bales

  6. […] https://pendrops.wordpress.com […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

