Posted by: pendrops | March 4, 2008

breaking fast

old_vine_zin.jpg

Wine is symbolic of a profound reverence for the God who made the earth and then called it good. ~ Rob Bell

I broke my Lenten fast today. It’s Rob Bell’s fault.

I was doing just fine on day 26 of this 40-day deal when Mr. Nooma came along, talking about wine. As he expounded on the fruit of the vine, I began to wonder if my fast had been a fruitless endeavor. Or maybe just a fruitful endeavor out of season.

You see, in these March days, as late winter winds succumb to intoxicating spring air, Jason and I are deep in the midst of exciting times. A season of arduous labor has given way to abiding freedom. Joy, celebration, and abundance has met us on the other side.

And here I’ve been living as if it’s time for refraining and abstaining.

I have a feeling if Jesus had been sitting with me as I listened to Rob today, He would have said the same thing He said to the Pharisees 2,000 years ago: “When you’re celebrating a wedding, you don’t skimp on the cake and wine. You feast. Later you may need to pull in your belt, but this isn’t the time. As long as the bride and groom are with you, you have a good time. When the groom is gone, the fasting can begin. No one throws cold water on a friendly bonfire. This is Kingdom Come!”*

It had seemed so right to cease in those early February days, to go without, to dig deep and give up. But when I open my eyes to the God-given feast surrounding Jason and me, it seems more appropriate, more freeing, more worshipful, to partake of the abundance.

So I broke it. And it has nothing to do with lack of control, insatiable cravings or unchecked indulgence. It is about enjoying God and every good thing He has rained down on us in these days where a warming sun and a steady shower brings winter-weary land back to life.

Tonight, as rain danced on our deck, spraying softly through the screen and inviting itself in, I toasted the bounty with my Old Vine Zin.

*Luke 5:29-35 MSG

Responses

  1. I love LOVE Rob Bell and Nooma….we use it at my church alot……and have u read his books?? If u haven’t, they are amazing….he is so insightful!! See ya soon! Sandi

  2. Darn that Rob Bell and his Nooma videos (which, by the way, I love!)! Ha! I agree with your post. Enjoy that wine!


Leave a Reply

Categories

