Posted by: pendrops | November 29, 2007

golden

gold_bday2.jpg

Today is my golden birthday – 29 on the 29th. And, as is my MO on milestone-esque occasions, I got all serious and metaphorical thinking about how my life has been like gold. How, in so many ways, my days have been defined by God’s refining, beautifying, and gift-receiving love.

Let me explain.

First, gold must be refined. “I will refine them and put them to the test, just as gold and silver are purified and tested. They will pray in My name, and I will answer them. I will say, ‘You are My people,’ and they will reply, ‘You, LORD, are our God!’” (Zechariah 13:9)

God has been severely merciful in His refining – this year and in years past – so that I might know He is my God, my only God, and that I might tell Him so.

After it is refined, gold shines with beauty. “Your bride, my king, has inward beauty, and her wedding gown is woven with threads of gold.” (Psalm 45:13)

God has been fiercely loving – this year and in years past – in healing me from unattainable illusions of beauty to show me real beauty, beauty I have because I am the King’s bride.

I suppose the only thing left to do with refined and beautiful gold is give it away. “They took out their gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh and gave them to Him.” (Matthew 2:11)

God has been wildly gracious – this year and in years past – to receive my life, as is, laid before Him, the only gift I have to give.

I’m not sure where or when all this golden birthday stuff started. Probably some gimmick by the gold people to get folks to buy more gold. Who knows? Nevertheless, today is my golden birthday and I am surprised and grateful at how God is refining me, beautifying me, and singing loudly about all these 29 years.

Responses

  1. beautiful! happy birthday!!!

  2. Happy Birthday dear friend!

  3. Happy Birthday, my precious friend!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

