Posted by: pendrops | November 25, 2007

dance, ok

dance.jpg

“And they find themselves dancing toward a throne
filled by the glory of sheer love.”

~ Larry Crabb, The Pressure’s Off

Dance
But, the grocery list.
Dance
I could return those calls.
Dance
I should freshen my make-up.
Dance with me
I think I’ll move the bookshelves.
To that corner.
Dance with me, little girl
What time is it?
I have to leave soon.
Dance with me, daughter

. . .

Ok

I stood, hesitant,
& swayed
in one spot
to silent music,
awkward & alone.

Now, twirl

I did, hesitant,
the curtains open
to nighttime reflections & nearby neighbors

& leap the way you did as a child

I laughed, hesitant,
remembering little girl steps,
free,
forgetful,
shown to my daddy
while music infused the living room
& my youthful soul.

Tonight, I showed my Daddy seasoned steps
while noiseless hush infused the living room
& a woman’s soul.

After several moments of timelessness,
I drew short breaths,
wiped a sweaty brow
& bowed.

Free.

Forgetful.

Beautiful

Responses

  1. A beautiful moment. Thank you for describing it here in this way. It caused me to stop for a while and breathe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

