Posted by: pendrops | November 16, 2007

christmas music

white_christmas.jpg

I almost forgot to start playing Christmas music this year. And it made me sort of sad. Not just because I nearly missed my annual deadline (November 1), the day I anticipate for months, when I can finally singing along with “Jingle Bells” and “Silent Night” and “White Christmas”; but because there’s something else going on that made me forget.

Velocity.

An object in motion tends to stay in motion, says science. And I am, undoubtedly, in motion; a motion that practically kept me from pushing play on Harry Connick, Jr.’s “When My Heart Finds Christmas” album in time.

Speaking of time, time flies. And I fly with it. I feel the break-necking pace, and the urge to slow, as I teeter on my 29th year, as I look at my life in decades. But even as I try to cease, decelerate, and stop, I still fly.

And, more than ever, I hear my dad’s voice resounding: “It just goes by so fast.” He says that a lot, an echoing exhortation to his children to seize their days. I try. I really do. But I’m like you and everyone else, and November 1st almost came and went without a single yuletide melody.

But I caught myself that evening a couple weeks ago as I scurried around the apartment, tying up loose ends.

“It’s November 1st,” I said, going to iTunes and turning on “He Is Christmas” by Take 6. I soulfully crooned, alone in the apartment, at the top of my lungs, best as I could, while they sang “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen.”

Rest.

Don’t dismay.

Remember.

Comfort.

Joy.

Those are some of the words to the old advent hymn. Rest. And don’t dismay. And remember, too; remember the tidings of comfort and joy. As I did all of the above, I wondered if so many of the things I fear blurring by are not worthy of my slowing down to see in the first place. Things like the little stipulations I put on myself (i.e., Christmas music deadlines); unnecessary expectations, pressures and demands. Maybe as long as I’m slowing down for the essential things, things like breathing, laughing, and loving, I’m seizing life just fine. And the other things, like listening to “Let It Snow,” will fall into place.

Besides, no one knows when Christmas Day really happened. But it did happen. And that makes Christmas music appropriate every day of the year.

Responses

  1. Amen to it all! Especially the part about listening to Christmas music whenever you want.

  2. It’s amazing that you post this on this particular week. I am usually the one that says “don’t even talk to me about Christmas until the day sfter Thanksgiving”. But this year I was ambushed. I went to Starbucks, a rare treat for me, and was assaulted by the season. I ordered my Grande Cafe Mocha from the red and green decorated menu board while whistling along with the song Christmas Time is Here, from Charlie Brown’s Christmas, smelling the spiced apple cider smell. It was overwhelming. I think that the seasonal stress of planning the Thanksgiving service and the Christmas service (I’m also a worship pastor) and the wondering how to buy presents this year and whose family are we going to visit and where was shattered in that moment. I have completely and utterly taken the “Nestea Plunge” backwards into the Christmas memories of my childhood.

    I realized that I should be helping my own kids record their fondest Christmas memories right now. They don’t need to learn from me that Christmas is the most stressful time of the year. It is the time of hope, rejoicing, resting as we remember that our Savior was born. I almost missed it!! It is now! Crap, I need to find a tree!!

  3. Give me Bruce Springsteen’s Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town any time of year. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

