Posted by: pendrops | September 4, 2007

wrestling prayers

jacobwrestlingangel.jpg
Gustav Dore

In the past few weeks, God has introduced Jason and me to the act and art of wrestling with Him. Through our pastor’s recent message, Jason’s teaching this weekend at a local church, and some of our own reading, we have been bombarded by the truth of what it means to grapple, struggle and cling when God engages us in the tussle.

When I stumbled on this prayer in Ken Gire’s book Reflections on the Word, I had to share with my fellow pendroppers.

O persistent God,
deliver me from assuming your mercy is gentle.

Pressure me that I may grow more human,
not through the lessening of my struggles,
but through an expansion of them…

Deepen my hurt
until I learn to share it and myself openly,
and my needs honestly.

Sharpen my fears until I name them
and release the power I have locked in them
and they in me.

Accentuate my confusion
until I shed those grandiose expectations
that divert me from the small, glad gifts
of the now and the here and the me.

Expose my shame where it shivers,
crouched behind the curtains of propriety,
until I can laugh at last
through my common frailties and failures,
laugh my way toward becoming whole.

~Ted Loder, Guerrillas of Grace

May you enter the fray and find God there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

