Posted by: pendrops | July 15, 2007

singing over

rejoicing_singing.jpg

Image courtesy HeArts

“…He will rejoice over you with singing.”
~ Zephaniah 3:17

“What does that mean, that God sings over us,” she asked as we left our Bible study a couple weeks ago. “I don’t understand it. All these years, I’ve been reading that verse. He sings over us? Really?”

I could only nod, confused and uncertain, too; straining to hear this Father-Creator-King who croons and swoons over me.

But today I heard Him – loud, clear, without a doubt. He sounded like Bono.

*Please stay a child somewhere in your heart…

You are the first one of your kind…

And you feel like no one before,
You steal right under my door…

I want the lot of what you got
And I want nothing that you’re not…

Everywhere you go you shout it
You don’t have to be shy about it…

Sugar, c’mon, show your soul
You been keeping your love under control…

Everywhere you go you shout it
You don’t have to be shy about it
Everywhere you go you shout about it, oh, my, my…

I want you some more
I want you some more…

Spill My glory all over the place, shout about it even, by being the one-of-a-kind you that I created you to be.

Sounds like the kind of song God would sing.

*lyrics from “Original of the Species,” How To Dismantle an Atomic Bomb

Leave a Reply

Categories

