Posted by: pendrops | July 6, 2007

devouring books

books_devoured.jpg

In the past several months, I’ve been devouring books. I don’t know what the deal is, but I can’t get enough of the rich fodder. And, might I add, that said books are seriously messing with my status quo. They’re literally turning every area of my life upside down, inside out, and rightside up.

Since you pendroppers are just about the best thing going, I wanted to share some provocative and ponder-worthy blurbs with you.

The Jesus Way: A Conversation on the Ways That Jesus is the Way
Eugene Petersen

We can’t proclaim the Jesus Truth, but then do it any old way we like. Nor can we follow the Jesus Way without speaking the Jesus Truth.

Beauty is not an add-on, an extra, a frill. Beauty is fundamental.

It’s All Too Much
Peter Walsh

More stuff doesn’t guarantee more happiness – but we live like it does.

You have no chance of being who you want to be, your best self, unless you dig out from under the weight of your clutter.

Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul
Stasi Eldredge

We need not be ashamed that we ache, thirst, hunger, long, are unsatisfied – let it drive us to God though.

Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality And Spirituality
Rob Bell

We’re severed, cut off, disconnected in a thousand ways, and we know it, we feel it, we’re aware of it every day. It’s an ache in our bones that won’t go away.

The temptation is to avoid things that are difficult and complex.

The Way of the Wild Heart: A Map for the Masculine Journey
John Eldredge

We make the mistake of thinking that clarity equals healing, that understanding equals restoration. They do not.

Plan B: Further Thoughts on Faith
Anne Lamott

…about the margins, where so many juicy moments of life and spirit and friendship could be found…

I hear the water at the edge of things.

A Long Obedience in the Same Direction: Discipleship in an Instant Society
Eugene Petersen

The dissatisfaction with the world as it is coupled with a longing for peace and truth, can set us on a pilgrim path of wholeness in God.

A person has to be thoroughly disgusted with the way things are to find the motivation to set out on the Christian way. As long as we think the next election might eliminate crime and establish justice or another scientific breakthrough might save the environment or another pay raise might push us over the edge of anxiety into a life of tranquility, we are not likely to risk the arduous uncertainties of the life of faith. A person has to get fed up with the ways of the world, before he, before she, acquires an appetite for the world of grace.

The Bible
God
(always a good book)

Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.
Jeremiah 6:16

Do not be conformed to the world. Be transformed by renewing your mind, so you can prove what is the will of God – His good, pleasing, perfect will.
Romans 12:2

You were not redeemed with perishable things, but with the precious blood of the unblemished and spotless Lamb of God – Christ.
1 Peter 1:18-19

Come away by yourselves to a lonely place and rest a while.
Mark 6:31

I care very little if I am judged by you or by any human court; indeed, I do not even judge myself. My conscience is clear, but that does not make me innocent either. It is the Lord who judges me.
1 Corinthians 4:3-4

Let all of us know what you’re reading and how it’s shaking up your world.

Responses

  1. Krista since I have medical problems I stay home alot. I read alot of books also. I know what you mean by devouring books. There are some books I can’t put down. Dave says he envies me because I have the time to read and he can see me growing in the Lord.

  2. Also I would like to respond on your comment about the Bible. I totally agree about judging yourself. We have to judge ourselves by what it says in the Bible. God has judged us at the cross if we are saved but as our Heavenly father we do mess up and we go to him and confess it to him he is quick and faithful to forgive us of our sin. But sometimes some people think that gives the the license to go and do whatever the want to do cause they will be forgiven. All they have to do is ask and he will forgive them. It also says in the Bible God knows what is in a man’s heart and he can’t fool God and he will be judged on judgement day and God will tell him to depart from me I never knew you. I would never want to hear those words.


Leave a Reply

Categories

