Posted by: pendrops | June 13, 2007

child’s pose

childs_pose.jpg

“You want me to do what!” I asked the elastic yoga chick on my TV this morning. As I contorted and stretched, bent and flexed, I couldn’t help laughing at my inability to properly mimic many of the asanas performed by this flexible femme.

But I knew what was coming and it kept me going through 30 minutes of near-impossible poses: bala-asana.

Bala-asana is the official yoga term for Child’s Pose. This position is typically saved till the end of a series of poses and is achieved by kneeling, forehead on the floor, arms hung limp at your side. In this pose, instructors often tell us to close our eyes, breathe, and melt into the stretch.

It’s a resting place, found only when I cease all activity.

It’s a humbling place because I’m laid low, incapable of any act of power, blind even to the things around me as my eyes focus on my mat and fall closed. All I can do is receive.

It’s a freeing place because, in child’s pose, I am able to be who I really am: a child, Abba’s child.

(It’s an encouraging place, too, because I can actually do this one!)

As I breathed this morning, connecting my racing mind to my quieter soul, and felt my body relax, I became aware of deeper things. Even through a child’s pose.

Responses

  1. the faith of a child,
    the pose of a child,
    sometimes mild
    often times wild
    rarely beguiled

  2. Jesus said “I tell you the truth, unless you change & become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” Mt 18:3&4


Leave a Reply

Categories

