Posted by: pendrops | June 12, 2007

sponge season

sponge.jpg

*Have you ever experienced a sponge season, one of those times where you, said sponge, are soaking up so much good, so much truth, so much peace, that you can hardly find an empty pore for more absorbance?

I’m telling you what, I’m in a flood as God pours out His truths about simplicity, freedom, dreams and the kind of life He’s calling me to. Can I get a super-absorbant sponge here, please!

Since this gush of excitement and passion seems bottle-necked between my soul and the page, let me at least share the tools God has used to transform my life these past two months.

plenty_cover.jpg

Plenty: One Man, One Woman, and a Raucous Year of Eating Locally by Alisa Smith and J.B. MacKinnon – This witty true story challenged the way I approach food. As a result, I have found the freshest, best tasting, and most economical fare I’ve ever enjoyed.

“What we could not ignore was the gut feeling more common and more important than policy makers or even scientists like to admit, that things have gone sideways.” ~ J.B. MacKinnon

vines_wines_cover.jpg

From Vines to Wines by Jeff Cox – This approachable reference book has opened my eyes to the beauty of winegrowing.

“The intrigue of wine is unlimited. As a winegrower, I have the great pleasure to observe the varied moods of a single wine in its lifetime – on the vine, in the fermenter, during its aging in barrel and in bottle, and in a glass throughout the course of a meal.” ~ from foreward by Tim Mondovi

green_this_cover.jpg

Green This! by Deirdre Imus – Practical, informative guide to greening your life, specifically your cleaning. A life-changing eye-opener for someone who thought she was already just about as green, granola and thrifty as you could be! (You’ll be hearing way more about my green revelations!)

“Cleaning up my life made sense.” ~ Deirdre Imus

too_much_cover.jpg

It’s All Too Much by Peter Walsh – Wow! God has used this book to break me of so much deep-ceded attachment to my stuff, helping me see clearly the freedom that comes with letting go.

“…re-examine your priorities and let go of the things weighing you down.” ~ Peter Walsh

“The things you own end up owning you.” ~ Fight Club

green_living_cover.jpg

Green Living by the editors of E/The Environmental Magazine – Another practical book with tips – and the reasons behind them – for living a whole, simple, healthy life.

“Every time we pull out our wallet, we are casting a vote for the kind of society and economy we want…we vote with our dollars every single day, either for or against sustainability, for or against health, for or against justice.” ~ Ronnie Cummins

impossible_dream_cover.jpg

And, just for kicks, the Patty Griffin album, Impossible Dream. Soul-stirring, heart-washing music.

As I row, row, row
Going so slow, slow, slow
Just down below me is the old sea…
“The Rowing Song”

You should have seen it; two of these books actually fell on my feet as I walked past their shelves. Almost like they had something to say just to me. So I listened. And I’m listening in deeper places to God, what He had to say about all this stuff. And it’s good. It’s about simplicity, dreams, hope, passion, freedom.

And I am wondering, when is He going to wring me out?

*****

(I know, I know…I said my posts were going to be shorter. This is one of those exceptions!)

*I have no doubt you’re hanging out where I’m at. Please spread the word here at Pendrops about some of your own life-changing “Ah-ha” moments!

Responses

  1. A Fight Club quote!! A Fight Club quote!! Yeah!!

  2. I was talking with a friend one day about how much we enjoy hearing people’s stories and living life with them. He said something I already knew, but it hit me in a brand-new way, an “ah ha” moment. He said, “Relationships are are what life’s all about. They’re what matter.” Jesus ministered by having relationships with people and not getting caught up in the day to day tasks. Yes, tasks are important, but people are more important. 🙂

  3. FYI – I dig your new look.

  4. Fantastic word, peachyperspective…it’s so easy for task-oriented folks like me to let to-do lists get in the way of relationships. Yes, things have to get done, but when it’s all said-done, it really is about loving each other well.

    Thanks for the reminder…pendroppers rock!


Leave a Reply

Categories

