Posted by: pendrops | June 7, 2007

so much more

“You should have a blog,” Jason said, sitting on our bright red couch one Wednesday night.

“OK,” I said.

“And you should call it Pendrops,” he continued.

“Hmmm…”

Now, a year later, I can hardly imagine life before building my little corner of the Web.

When I think of how much I’ve learned just in a year, right alongside you, I am left, well, wordless, you might say.

In these 360-some days, God has inundated my heart and mind with so much more of the real stuff of life, leaving me breathless at how this year has opened itself up and given me the gift of experience and awareness.

In light of so much transformation, I can’t help becoming more intentional about what I share. That said, the two qualities I envision for the coming year at Pendrops are simplicity and substance.

A few words on simplicity…

In the past year, I have gained a life-altering awareness of my need for simplicity. For some time now, I have been praying about and researching ways to pare down, prune back, and get free of the unnecessaries that distort and distract. Even now, I am in the midst of Operation Simplify (OS), my long-term plan for simplifying life in our complex world. (You’ll hear more about OS very soon, but let me just say, it’s a blast!)

Even my writing is not safe from the reaches of OS, as I have evaluated my writing and decided to adopt a more dense approach. This means you’ll see more concise posts, hopefully making Pendrops the place you stop for a yummy bite-sized snack on your Web wandering.

A few words on substance…

This past year has also been one in which God has thrust the reality about His world into my heart’s line of vision. Because issues like the cruel treatment of women and girls, sex trafficking, female circumcision, AIDS, the genocide in Darfur, environmental stewardship, and various other mission projects have become so significant to me, I can’t help but talk about them.

Don’t worry: I don’t plan to bombard you with action points or guilt trips. Rather, I will simply post brief stories on the issues closest to my heart and the people or organizations that are doing something about them.

Of course, I’ll keep sharing how I see the mystery, meaning and hilarity of truth in everyday moments. I’ll keep the NDQOTD’s coming as well. But as I have been infused with a new kind of passion and purpose in the days behind, there’s so much more I want to share with you.

Responses

  1. Love the new design!

  2. All us Pendroppers can’t wait for more of your wrtitings and the conversations that come with them!

  3. I want to hear about Napa 🙂

  4. I’m glad to be on the blogroll of the Best Blog On the Internet for one year running now. Happy Blogiversary.

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

Categories

