Posted by: pendrops | May 27, 2007

napa tomorrow

napa.jpg

“I want to get away, I wanna fly away…”
Lenny Kravitz

As I sit on the deck this balmy Nashville night, my mind is frazzled and fried, racing and restless, searching for words that won’t come. I’ve been typing and deleting, typing and deleting, for some 45 minutes now, longing to offer some good word, some universal truth about something. About anything. About burned bread, runaway dogs, or mean moms at the library – really profound stuff.

But the inkwell is dry, my friends. In fact, it has been running dry the past couple weeks as the matters of life have left me scurrying and hurrying more than normal…more than I ought.

But I’m going to Napa tomorrow, my Eden, my heart’s hometown. Maybe you have a place like that, a place you love, a place you dream of when you sleep and when you wake.

Tell us pendroppers about it – we’d love to hear. And when I return, I’ll share some of my own stories of a lush valley with her vines and rivers that always satiate, always supply.

Responses

  1. Napa’s great, but give me Sonoma. I wanna relax on the grass in the square with a bottle from Castle, eating some cheese, wishing that I could afford that Ledson owned place just across the street, lusting after all the great kitchen wares on the other side, and looking forward to a cup of joe from Adobe.

  2. Hey Krista,
    First of all, I love your site. I’m embarrassed to say that it has taken me this long to look at it! Secondly, my eden is the Olympic Peninsula–the only rain forest in North America. It is a brilliant kingdom ruled by glacial streams and populated by cougars and a million slugs. Hopefully I’ll get to go out there in August. Yay!


Leave a Reply

Categories

