Posted by: pendrops | December 5, 2006

soundtrack

music_note2.jpg

If you look deep enough you will see music; the heart of nature being everywhere music.
– Thomas Carlyle

As I reflect on the past year and all that has been celebrated and lavished, undone and broken, remade and redeemed in my life and the lives around me, these are the melodies and lyrics that have been my soundtrack. Some are old, some are spankin’ new, but all have marked my journey and awakened thought, smiles, cries, doubts, belief, hope and love.

Enjoy them at iTunes if you like.

10. Ordinary People by John Legend from Get Lifted
“And though love sometimes hurts
I still put you first
And we’ll make this thing work…”

9. What a Difference a Day Made by Jamie Cullum from Twentysomething
“What a difference a day made
And the difference is you…”

8. Bad by U2 from The Unforgettable Fire
“If I could, I would
Let it go, Surrender, Dislocate…”

7. Jesus in New Orleans by Over the Rhine from Ohio
“Ain’t it crazy all that’s revealed when you’re not looking all that close?”

6. Glory Come Down by Sara Groves from Past the Wishing
“It didn’t take me too long to find the chains you just had freed me from…”

5. Long Ride Home by Patty Griffin from 1000 Kisses
“Ain’t nothing left at all in the end of being proud…”

4. In Repair by John Mayer from Continuum
“I’m in repair, I’m not together but I’m getting there…”

3. Gravity by John Mayer from Continuum and Try!
“Just keep me where the light is…”

2. Redemption by Jars of Clay from Furthermore
“Looking at redemption in the eyes of sorrow, eyes of rage
When our sordid histories they played, the drama of redemption.”

1. Oh My God by Jars of Clay from Good Monsters
“Oh my God, look around this place
Your fingers reach around the bone
You set the break and set the tone…”

Leave a Reply

Categories

