Posted by: pendrops | November 29, 2006

28

cake.jpg

The LORD your God has blessed you in all that you have done; He has known your wanderings through this great wilderness. These twenty-eight years the LORD your God has been with you; you have not lacked a thing.
Deuteronomy 2:7

“Yes, today is my birthday,” I said in response to the woman in my Bible study.

“Are you even 20 yet?” she said with a laugh as she walked away.

“Twenty-eight,” I whispered to myself.

I love this woman, but her words deflated me. I have so looked forward to my late-20s and treasured the ways God has broken me out of a shell of immaturity, insecurity and unawareness. This year in particular I have been pushed, pulled, refined, transformed, and moved much further down my road than ever before. But I was disappointed today at the feeling that my 28 years haven’t fooled anyone…I’m still just a pup.

I’m sure some day I’ll appreciate the comments about my “youthful face.” But not today. Today I had hoped that my character might speak for itself. That I am not, in fact, a green, wide-eyed 20-year-old, but rather a grown woman, self-aware, wise, with a few scars to show for it.

Maybe I’m not 75 like the woman who made this comment and I suppose it’s the nature of older women to say things like that to youngsters like me. But I have lived. Twenty-eight years is nothing to laugh at. Twenty-eight years means something.

My mom wrote this quote in my birthday card today: “Every year is another year God fills with the plans He has written just for you.” Every year has worth, every year says something, every year gives so much. My years are marked with intoxicating laughter, bitter tears, lost memories, cherished friends, shameful failures, diffused regrets, hard-fought successes, inexplicable grace and life-changing love.

Yes, 28 years is something. A gift.

Leave a Reply

Categories

