Posted by: pendrops | September 12, 2006

autumn in the summer

candy_corn.jpg

It’s raining today and autumn is coming on as summer softly, quietly fades. And, as I’m prone to do this time of year (but usually not so soon), all I can think of are children’s books, candy corn and apple cider.

There’s just something about reading a children’s novel in the fall. It must be my childhood love of reading, and the way I associate it with the beginning of a school year, that draws me to the children’s section of the library today. I pass rows of Madeleine L’Engle, Judy Blume and Beverly Cleary books and pick them up. The smell of the pages takes me back to fourth grade when I read Dear Mr. Henshaw and sixth grade when I read anything by R. L. Stine. I’m transported to a dim classroom, listening to Mr. Burdett, my fifth grade teacher, read Where the Red Fern Grows.

Today, I couldn’t deny that there was something about the rain, the anticipation of fall, and the new school year that made me check out A Wrinkle in Time and another children’s book I’ve never heard of called Hazel Green. (I’ll let you know how they turn out.)

And then there’s candy corn. The grocery stores are stocking up for Halloween and I think I’ll stop by the store on my way home for a bag of the orange, yellow and white sugary treat.

While I’m at it, I’ll probably pick up a gallon of apple cider, though I’m sure it won’t compare to the fresh cider at my hometown orchard, Tanner’s. At the orchard, they prepared the mixture before our eyes: heavy on apples, light on sugar, little bit of cinnamon, a pinch of cloves. We would stock up and, as fall inched toward winter, mom would warm it up on the stove, filling the house with the sweet and spiced aroma.

Sunrise comes later now; sunset, a tad earlier. And I love it. Especially when it rains. And especially when a cool, waning summer day feels so much like fall.

Responses

  1. I have goosebumps.

  2. Sometimes I still get the goosebumps on Friday nights when I hear the whistles of referees, the beating drums of a marching band and smell the hamburgers on a grill at a football game. That’s how I know Fall is on the way!

    PS – With all this talk about how much you like rainy days and the extra darkness at this time of year, I thought for sure you might mention your former co-workers who created an adjective in honor of you for that very reason:

    “It’s raining and cold. Today is such a Krista day.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

