Posted by: pendrops | July 25, 2006

something to say

writing.jpg

OK, so I’ve told almost everyone that I’m going to begin freelance writing full-time. And I’m excited. This is a dream come true. When I was 10 years old, my parents gave me a Brother typewriter for my birthday and I’ve been writing ever since. I wrote even before that, but the typewriter sealed it. The clacking keys and rustling ribbon confirmed what I already knew in my little poetry-writing heart: I was meant to be a writer.

So, why am I scared? Why can’t I think of anything to write about tonight? And, more importantly, why don’t I know any foolproof techniques for getting those creative juices flowing? Where have I gone before – in my mind, in my heart, in my soul – to dig up stories about my childhood, stories about fictional people in fake scenarios, stories that touched lives?

Maybe it’s just cold feet. Maybe I’m thinking too hard about getting published when I simply need to keep falling in love with writing every day. Maybe I’m just tired and scattered by thoughts of bills to pay, laundry to fold, and dinner dishes to wash.

Or maybe dreams come true are just as difficult in the day-to-day as the humdrum jobs and tasks we endure. The difference is that the dream feeds, even in the struggle. The dream gives life and breath. The dream quickens our step and sparkles our eyes. The dream makes us like children again – wide-eyed and wonder-filled.

But the humdrum, it slowly devours and quietly destroys.

So, it’s OK if I don’t have something to write about tonight. I know something much worse than writer’s block. And there will always be something to say tomorrow.

Responses

  1. congratulations Krista!

  2. Congratulations!!! We did not get a chance to catch up before I left town but I am thrilled to read you are free lancing full time! I am so happy for you! Hopefully we will get a chance to chat once I am back south of the Mason Dixon! Take care! I’ll be home in about 8 days!

  3. I’m really happy for you. What a dream! So many would love to do the same. Keep writing. You’ll do great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

