Posted by: pendrops | June 8, 2006

sharing snapshots

Ferrari-Carano

I’ve wanted to post something all week, but everything I’ve written has been all wrong.

An angry rant about denominations. A persuasive piece on the superiority of hockey. And a psychoanalysis of why I have a hard time laughing at myself these days.

But, I thought I’d spare you (and me) and simply show you a few snapshots of June 8th.

Today, Jason and I have been married 60 days. My grandparents were married 60 years, so 60 days may seem inconsequential. But I suppose you have to start somewhere, right?

Our first days have been full…full of laughter, music, cooking, beauty, chocolate, gifts, ordinariness, work, cleaning, laundry, learning, growing, patience, sacrifice and joy. These are indeed the good ole days and, as one friend put it, good ole days are ahead.

On another note: lunch today was a beautiful thing. A handful of walnuts, a few tortilla chips with salsa, a half slice of home-made gluten free pizza, and a bite of praline ice soy cream. It was one of those days where, void of one particular craving, I raided the kitchen and picked all my favorites. The lyrics, “These are a few of my favorite things…” sang in my ears as I nibbled each portion on my purple plate. And I decided, I’m thankful for food. For the tastes and smells and textures that make each thing we eat so unique and enticing.

Walnuts, crunchy, yet spongy and buoyant. Crisp, fresh-out-of-the-oven tortilla chips with cool, spicy pineapple salsa. Gluten-free pizza crust with home-made sauce, goat cheese and sun-dried tomatoes – cold from the back of the fridge and only a couple days old. And, to top it off, a sweet, frozen bite of praline and caramel ice soy cream. Yes, I am thankful…and quite full. I wonder what I’ll have for dinner!

Switching gears: this morning I learned to appreciate the beloved Sisterhood of Toilet Paper Stuck to the Shoe Removers. As a detail person, I typically notice things like a zipper half zipped, a tag sticking out, or even toilet paper stuck to the bottom of my shoe. But today I missed it, and traipsed down the hallway with thin white paper tagging behind me, punctured by my 2-inch heel.

But I didn’t get far. One of the third-floor secretaries silently stopped me, stepped on the toilet paper herself, and motioned me to walk on.

Thanks for taking one for the team, sister!

Finally, a quote posing as a prayer:

“To find out what one is fitted to do, and to secure an opportunity to do it, is the key to happiness.”
(John Dewey)

Amen. And amen.

Responses

  1. Krista, thanks for sharing those snapshots. Can’t believe your favorite food is walnuts and gluten free pizza, finished off with a big scoop of praline ice SOY cream. I know you better than that, and there had to be some godiva chocolate in that equation somewhere. Wish I could have seen you walking down the hall with the toilet paper on your shoe. Just wondering, did your helper actually pick it up? EEEEwwwwwwwwww. Keep writing! Love the pieces.


Leave a Reply

Categories

